HSPD-8: Homeland Security Presidential Directive 8

The way Homeland Security Grant applications are assessed will change in 2006.  Homeland Security Presidential Directive 8 defines seven priorities for funding to localities, which determine the HSG allotment for Virginia.  Previously, HSG funds were based on a formula that consisted of a base amount for all states, plus additional funds based on population.  In 2006, HSG funds were based on each state’s need, according to the seven priorities, which include:

  • Implementing the National Incident Management System and National Response Plan nationwide
  • Expanding regional collaboration
  • Implementing the Interim National Infrastructure Protection Plan
  • Strengthening information sharing and collaboration capabilities
  • Strengthening interoperable communications capabilities
  • Strengthening chemical, biological, radiological, nuclear and explosive detection, response and decontamination capabilities
  • Strengthening medical surge and mass prophylaxis capabilities

Reviews Mandated by House Resolution 2360
All states and 75 of the country’s largest urban areas must provide a self-assessment and statement of certification for their catastrophic planning, specifically mass evacuation planning.  In Virginia, the cities of Norfolk, Richmond and Virginia Beach, as well as the National Capitol Region will participate in the review.  The assessments are mandated by House Resolution 2360, to ensure that sufficient resources are devoted to planning for the “complete evacuation of residents, including special needs groups in hospitals and nursing homes, or resident without access to transportation, in advance of and after such an event, as well as plans for sustenance of evacuees.”  The brief narrative self-assessment, statement of certification and electronic copies of relevant materials are a prerequisite for 2006 Homeland Security grants.

Additional Resources