Regional Hazmat

Regional Hazmat Response Team










Wade CollinsWade Collins , Branch Chief, Special Operations, Response Programs Division/Disaster Services Bureau

Contact Information:
Phone: (804) 897-9952
Fax: (804) 897-6576


Wade Collins currently serves as the Special Operations Chief at the VA Department of Emergency Management. He is responsible for the management and coordination of the commonwealth’s response asset teams (Hazardous Materials, Incident Management, Search and Rescue, Technical Rescue, and the Radio Caches). He has 30 years emergency response and public service, including an enlistment in the U.S. Navy. Prior to his current assignment he served as the Technological Hazards Division Deputy Director. He served 10 years in the field as a Regional Hazardous Materials Officer following a successful career in the fire service. Collins currently serves on numerous committees at the state and national level, including the NFPA Hazardous Materials Technical Committee.

Craig Buckley, Area 1 

Craig BuckleyContact Information:
Phone: (804) 332-3463
Fax: (703) 441-9837

Territory: City of Alexandria, Arlington County, Caroline County, City of Fairfax, Fairfax County, City of Falls Church, Fauquier County, City of Fredericksburg, King George County, Loudoun County, City of Manassas, City of Manassas Park, Orange County, Prince William County, Spotsylvania County, Stafford County


Vacant- Area 2

Contact Information:
Phone: (804)674-2400 VEOC

Territory: Amelia County, Charles City County, Chesterfield County, City of Colonial Heights, Cumberland County, Dinwiddie County, Town of Farmville, Goochland County, Hanover County, Henrico County, City of Hopewell, Louisa County, New Kent County, Nottoway County, City of Petersburg, Powhatan County, Prince Edward County, Prince George County, City of Richmond

Todd Cannon - Area 3

Todd CannonContact Information:

Phone: (804) 674-2400
Fax: N/A

Territory: Accomack County, Town of Chincoteague, Essex County, Gloucester County, City of Hampton, James City County, King and Queen County, King William County, Lancaster County, Mathews County, Middlesex County, City of Newport News, Northampton County, Northumberland County, City of Poquoson, Richmond County, Westmoreland County, City of Williamsburg, York County

Woody Brown, Area 4

Woody BrownContact Information:
Phone: Fax: (540) 631-9317


Territory: Albemarle County, Augusta County, City of Charlottesville, Clarke County, Culpeper County, Fluvanna County, Frederick County, Greene County, City of Harrisonburg, Highland County, Madison County, Page County, Rappahannock County, Rockingham County, Shenandoah County, City of Staunton, Warren County, City of Waynesboro, City of Winchester


Ray Earp, Area 5

Ray ErpContact Information:
Phone: (804) 513-5726

Territory: Amherst County, Appomattox County, Buckingham County, Campbell County, Charlotte County, City of Danville, Halifax County, Henry County, Lunenburg County, City of Lynchburg, City of Martinsville, Mecklenburg County, Nelson County, Patrick County, Pittsylvania County, South Boston Town


Jack Tolbert, Area 6

Jack TolbertContact Information:
Phone: (276) 328-2329
Fax: (276) 376-4845

Territory: Bland County, City of Bristol, Buchanan County,  Dickenson County, City of Galax, Grayson County, Lee County, Norton City,   Russell County, Scott County, Smyth County, Tazewell County, Washington County, Wise County, Wythe County


Ray Haring, Area 7

Ray HaringContact Information:

Phone: (757) 363-3891
Fax: (757) 363-3892

Territory: Brunswick County, City of Chesapeake, City of Emporia, City of Franklin, Greensville County, Isle of Wight County, City of Norfolk, City of Portsmouth, Southampton County, City of Suffolk, Surry County, Sussex County, City of Virginia Beach

Brian Thurman, Area 8

Brian ThurmanContact Information:
Phone: (540) 986-6979
Fax: (434) 432-8046

Territory: Alleghany County, Bath County, City of Bedford, Bedford County, Botetourt County, City of Buena Vista, Carroll County, Christiansburg Town, City of Clifton Forge, City of Covington, Craig County, Floyd County, Franklin County, Giles County, City of Lexington, Montgomery County, Pulaski County, City of Radford, City of Roanoke, Roanoke County, Rockbridge County, City of Salem, Town of Vinton

Brian Iverson - Radiological Protection Officer

Brian IversonContact Information:
Phone: (804) 897-9953
Fax: (804) 897-6576

Responsible for various aspects of Radiological Emergency Response to include response, training and planning.