Grants

The VDEM Grants Office administers all non-disaster/preparedness grant and funding programs available to local governments and State Agencies for the Agency.  These funding opportunities are used to enhance overall preparedness and response capabilities for a full range of hazards.

Sign Up for Grants Email Alerts

Once registered with the list serve above. Any time that VDEM has a Non-Disaster (Preparedness) grant cycle open for project ideas, a Project Proposal Process will be announced and you will receive an email with all the important information.

To assist you with completing VDEM’s project proposal as well as any other grant, we have developed the following document.

  • Achieving Grant SuccessThe Winning Proposal (This document in no way guarantees funding of any said project and is only to be used as a helpful guide.)

Grant Guidance

 

VDEM eGMS

eGMS was established to provide an automated system for all non-disaster/preparedness subgrantees to complete the life cycle of a subgrant, and submit reports online that will go directly to VDEM Grant Management Office. This system is a multi-phase project that will automate many of the current processes in use with the hard copy forms. The instruction manual provides detailed information on how the system works as well as how to contact VDEM Grants Management Office for questions.

Users may now submit their Request for Funds, Budget Development and Amendment Requests, and online as well as view the status of various submitted reports and requests. As new phases are rolled out, an announcement will be displayed in eGMS and VDEM’s list serve to alert all users. Coming soon…quarterly progress reports and grant adjustment notices.

As of March 31, 2013, all Request for Funds, and Budget Amendment Requests and Narratives MUST be filled out online. Paper requests will not be accepted.


VDEM Grant Management Office Staff
Grants Director Cheryl Lee cheryl.lee@vdem.virginia.gov 804-897-9760
Grants Program Support Lisa Foley lisa.foley@vdem.virginia.gov 804-897-9767
Disaster Grants Manager Robbie Coates robert.coates@vdem.viginia.gov 804-897-9766
Mitigation Grants Administrator for New River Valley RC, Thomas Jefferson, PDC, Commonwealth RC, Richmond Regional PDC, and Crater PDC Trina Addison trina.addison@vdem.virginia.gov 804-897-9976
Mitigation Grants Administrator  for Northern Shenandoah Valley RC, Rappahannock-Rapidan RC, George Washington RC, Northern Neck PDC, Annomack-Northampton PDC, Hampton Roads PDC, LENOWISCO PDC, and Mount Rogers PDC Amy Howard amy.howard@vdem.virginia.gov 804-897-9974
Mitigation Grants Administrator  for Cumberland Plateau PDC, Roanoke Valley-Alleghany RC, Central Shenandoah PDC, Region 2000 LGC, West Piedmont PDC, Southside PDC, Northern Virginia RC, and Middle Peninsula PDC. Debbie Messmer debbie.messmer@vdem.virginia.gov 804-897-9975
Preparedness Grants Manager Heather Smolka heather.smolka@vdem.virginia.gov 804-239-8321
Preparedness Grants Administrator
Regions 4 & 6 State Agencies, and NCR UASI
Kerry Stuver kerry.stuver@vdem.virginia.gov 804-205-6914
Acting Preparedness Grants Admin.
Regions 2 & 7
Lisa Foley lisa.foley@vdem.virginia.gov 804-897-9767
Preparedness Grants Administrator
Regions 1 & 3
Tammy Myers tammy.myers@vdem.virginia.gov 804-897-9717
Preparedness Grants Administrator
Region 5
Richard Hazel richard.hazel@vdem.virginia.gov 804-897-9786

 

All Grant Forms

Applications and reporting forms can be found under the Forms link .

This page contains forms for grant application and reporting. Note that you should save forms to your computer before using them. All Forms in package must be completed

All forms must be completed and submitted before applications can be reviewed.


Additional Resources

Be ready. Be willing to help.

Virginia Disaster Relief Fund