Grants

The VDEM Grants Office administers all non-disaster/preparedness grant and funding programs available to local governments and State Agencies for the Agency.  These funding opportunities are used to enhance overall preparedness and response capabilities for a full range of hazards.

Sign Up for Grants Email Alerts

Once registered with the list serve above. Any time that VDEM has a Non-Disaster (Preparedness) grant cycle open for project ideas, a Project Proposal Process will be announced and you will receive an email with all the important information.

Grant Guidance

 

VDEM eGMS

eGMS was established to provide an automated system for all non-disaster/preparedness subgrantees to complete the life cycle of a subgrant, and submit reports online that will go directly to VDEM Grant Management Office. This system is a multi-phase project that will automate many of the current processes in use with the hard copy forms. The instruction manual provides detailed information on how the system works as well as how to contact VDEM Grants Management Office for questions.

Users may now submit their Request for Funds, Budget Development and Amendment Requests, and online as well as view the status of various submitted reports and requests. As new phases are rolled out, an announcement will be displayed in eGMS and VDEM’s list serve to alert all users. Coming soon…quarterly progress reports and grant adjustment notices.

As of March 31, 2013, all Request for Funds, and Budget Amendment Requests and Narratives MUST be filled out online. Paper requests will not be accepted.

 


 

VDEM Grant Management Office Staff
Chief Financial Officer Cheryl Lee cheryl.lee@vdem.virginia.gov 804-897-9760
Preparedness Grants Manager Lisa Mallory lisa.mallory@vdem.virginia.gov 804 897-9717
Disaster Grants Manager Robbie Coates robert.coates@vdem.viginia.gov 804-897-9766

Grants Administrator

Hazard Mitigation Assistance Grants (Regions 1 & 3, and Region 5:  the cities of Chesapeake, Franklin, Portsmouth, and Suffolk,  and the counties of Isle of Wight, Southampton and Surry)

Trina Addison trina.addison@vdem.virginia.gov 804-897-9976

Grant Administrator  

Hazard Mitigation Assistance Grants

Region 5:  the cities Poquoson and Williamsburg and the counties of Accomack, James City, Lancaster, Northampton,  Northumberland, Richmond,  Westmoreland and York

Amy Howard amy.howard@vdem.virginia.gov 804-385-8234

Grants Administrator

Hazard Mitigation Assistance Grants

Region 5: the cities of Hampton, Norfolk, Virginia Beach and the counties of Gloucester, Mathews, and Middlesex

Debbie Messmer debbie.messmer@vdem.virginia.gov 804-897-9975

Grants Administrator

Preparedness Grants 
Regions 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7

Lisa Foley lisa.foley@vdem.virginia.gov 804-897-9767

All Grant Forms

  1. Applications and reporting forms can be found under the Forms link .
  2. All forms must be completed and submitted before applications can be reviewed.
  3. This page contains forms for grant application and reporting. Note that you should save forms to your computer before using them. All Forms in package must be completed

Additional Resources

Be ready. Be willing to help.

Virginia Disaster Relief Fund