Governor Warner Announces USDA Drought Designation for Additional 39 Localities

April 1, 2011  //  


#Virginia Governor Mark Warner #Virginia Governor Mark Warner #Virginia Governor Mark Warner

Press and Policy > News Releases >

For Immediate Release


Date Contact

October 22, 2002

Ellen Qualls
(804) 786-2211, x 2379
cell: (804) 393-9429

Governor Warner Announces USDA Drought Designation for Additional 39 Localities

RICHMOND Governor Mark R. Warner announced today that the United States Department of Agriculture has granted a request for disaster designations for an additional 39 Virginia localities impacted by drought and excessive heat.

The designation allows farmers to apply for low-interest loans from USDA and other emergency assistance that may be provided by Congress. Livestock producers in the 39 localities also are eligible for assistance under the new Livestock Compensation Program.

Last Friday, Governor Warner urged U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Ann Veneman to act on pending requests for drought disaster designations for 58 Virginia localities, some of which were filed in early August. Governor Warner also encouraged the Secretary to extend Livestock Compensation Program eligibility to livestock producers in any locality that had filed a request for disaster designation by the September 19 cut-off.

“I am certainly pleased that Secretary Ann Veneman has responded to our request to provide emergency assistance to Virginia farmers and livestock producers, many of whom are battling back-to-back years of drought,” Governor Warner said. “I also appreciate USDA’s decision to relax its arbitrary deadline for participation in the Livestock Compensation Program, as I requested. This could benefit many Virginia farmers, their families, and our farming communities.”

The 39 localities receiving primary designation are Appomattox, Augusta, Bedford, Bland, Botetourt, Buckingham, Campbell, Caroline, Craig, Cumberland, Floyd, Franklin, Goochland, Greene, Hanover, Henry, King And Queen, King George, King William, Lunenburg, Madison, Mecklenburg, Middlesex, Montgomery, Nelson, New Kent, Nottoway, Page, Pittsylvania, Powhatan, Prince William, Richmond, Rockingham, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Suffolk City, Surry, Westmoreland and Wythe.

The following contiguous localities also are eligible for emergency loan assistance, but not Livestock Compensation Program assistance: Albemarle, Alleghany, Amelia, Amherst, Bath, Bedford City, Brunswick, Carroll, Charles City, Charlotte, Chesapeake City, Chesterfield, Culpeper, Danville City, Dinwiddie, Essex, Fairfax, Fauquier, Fluvanna, Fredericksburg City, Giles, Gloucester, Grayson, Halifax, Harrisonburg City, Henrico, Highland, Isle Of Wight, James City, Lancaster, Loudoun, Louisa, Lynchburg City, Manassas City, Manassas Park City, Martinsville City, Mathews, Newport News City, Northumberland, Orange, Patrick, Portsmouth City, Prince Edward, Prince George, Pulaski, Radford City, Rappahannock, Roanoke, Rockbridge, Shenandoah, Smyth, Southampton, Staunton City, Sussex, Tazewell, Warren and Waynesboro City.

On Friday, Governor Warner also sought disaster status for Accomack, Carroll, Grayson, Greensville, Lancaster, Lee, Patrick, Rappahannock, Roanoke, and Russell counties. Those requests are pending with USDA. Previously, ten Virginia localities were declared primary disaster areas: Bedford, Brunswick, Buckingham, Cumberland, Fluvanna, Goochland, Louisa, Orange, Prince Edward, and Rockbridge counties.


Be ready. Be willing to help.

Virginia Disaster Relief Fund