December 19, 2011  //  


News Desk: 804-270-4409

September 20, 2004
No. 1544-DR-VA-021


RICHMOND, VA – Additional counties have been declared eligible for federal disaster assistance in dealing with the effects of Tropical Storm Gaston, commonwealth and federal officials announced today. Charles City, King William and New Kent counties now are eligible for Individual Assistance. King William and New Kent counties also have become eligible for the Public Assistance Program, which helps cover disaster-related costs of governments and certain nonprofit organizations.

Homeowners and renters in Charles City, King William and New Kent counties now are eligible to apply for a wide range of state and federal disaster assistance, including housing grants, U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loans, grants to help meet serious disaster-related needs and disaster-unemployment assistance. Business owners in these three counties now can apply for SBA disaster loans.

The Public Assistance Program provides reimbursement for eligible costs of emergency work such as traffic control and permanent work to repair damages to public facilities. Certain private nonprofit organizations also may be eligible if they provide essential government services.

Affected residents and business owners in the designated localities are encouraged to apply for assistance immediately by calling the toll-free registration number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m., daily. Those with a speech or hearing impairment may call TTY 1-800-462-7585.

President Bush signed a major disaster declaration for the Commonwealth of Virginia, at the request of Gov. Mark Warner. The Sept. 3 declaration triggered assistance to individuals and government entities. Previously designated for Individual Assistance were the independent cities of Colonial Heights, Hopewell, Petersburg and Richmond, and the counties of Chesterfield, Dinwiddie, Hanover, Henrico and Prince George. The cities of Colonial Heights and Richmond, and the counties of Chesterfield, Hanover and Henrico also were eligible for Public Assistance.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. FEMA’s continuing mission within the new department is to lead the effort to prepare the nation for all hazards and effectively manage federal response and recovery efforts following any national incident. FEMA also initiates proactive mitigation activities, trains first responders, and manages Citizen Corps, the National Flood Insurance Program and the U.S. Fire Administration.


# # #


Note to Editors: Disaster information is available on or

Be ready. Be willing to help.

Virginia Disaster Relief Fund