Five Additional Localities Eligible for Federal Disaster Aid for January Snow Storm Recovery

April 15, 2016  //  

VDEM Press Release


April 15, 2016

CONTACT: Dawn Eischen
(804) 897-6510 

Five Additional Localities Eligible for Federal Disaster Aid for January Snow Storm Recovery

RICHMOND – Earlier this week, the Virginia Department of Emergency Management received notification that five additional localities are eligible for the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) Public Assistance (PA) program for costs incurred during the Jan. 22-23 severe winter storms.

The counties of Greene, Henrico and Shenandoah and the cities of Fairfax and Fredericksburg are eligible to receive reimbursement for infrastructure repairs and response costs associated with the winter storms. On March 7, FEMA authorized PA program assistance for Albemarle, Arlington, Caroline, Clarke, Culpeper, Fairfax, Fauquier, Frederick, Highland, King George, Loudoun, Louisa, Madison, Page, Patrick, Prince William, Rappahannock, Spotsylvania, Stafford and Warren counties, and the cities of Alexandria, Falls Church, Manassas, Manassas Park and Winchester.

“We were successful in securing federal disaster assistance for five additional jurisdictions because we’re committed to making sure our local partners have what they need to respond to emergencies,” said State Coordinator of Emergency Management Dr. Jeffrey Stern. “We’re also committed to the individuals and families recovering from the Feb. 24 tornadoes and intend to submit a compelling appeal to FEMA to further make the Commonwealth’s case for disaster assistance.”

On April 1, FEMA denied Virginia’s request for assistance to help individuals and homeowners in Appomattox, Essex and Sussex counties impacted by the Feb. 24 tornadoes. The Commonwealth intends to submit an appeal to FEMA by the May 1 deadline.


Be ready. Be willing to help.

Virginia Disaster Relief Fund