Virginia Department of Emergency Management Opens Regional Office in Roanoke

November 16, 2016  //  

RICHMOND (Nov. 16, 2016) – Virginia Department of Emergency Management (VDEM) State Coordinator Dr. Jeff Stern announced the official opening of VDEM’s Region Six office in Roanoke today.

This is one of six new regional offices VDEM is opening across the Commonwealth this year to improve and enhance its on-the-ground presence and coordination with state agencies and local governments responding to emergencies and disasters.

“Our new regional offices help us continue to expand regional capacity for recovery from disasters in the Commonwealth,” said Dr. Stern. “We’re achieving this expansion without increasing spending by reorganizing and placing our experienced personnel directly into the communities they’re already serving from Richmond.”

The Commonwealth manages seven geographic regions for emergency and disaster management through VDEM. Each regional office comprises, at minimum, one chief regional coordinator, a disaster response and recovery officer, a hazardous materials officer, and an all-hazards planner. Michael Pruitt will serve as the Chief Regional Coordinator for VDEM Region Six.

VDEM’s Region Six comprises the following communities: the counties of Alleghany, Bath, Bedford, Botetourt, Craig, Floyd, Franklin, Henry, Highland, Montgomery, Patrick, Pittsylvania, Roanoke, and Rockbridge; the cities of Bedford, Buena Vista, Covington, Danville, Lexington, Martinsville, Roanoke, and Salem; and the towns of Christiansburg and Vinton.

# # #

Contact: Virginia Department of Emergency Management
(804) 371-7215 or


Be ready. Be willing to help.

Virginia Disaster Relief Fund