An Agency of the Commonwealth of Virginia
Emergency Support Team (VEST) Status Yellow, Monitoring

VEOC Activation Status: Yellow, Monitoring

FY22 Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities (BRIC)

This opportunity is maintained by Hazard Mitigation Assistance Grant Programs

Program Status


Eligible Entities

State Agencies, Tribal Government

Applications Open

Applications Close

November 10, 2022

Originally Posted

February 6, 2022

Sign-up for Grants Email Notifications


BRIC Grant Intent

The intent of the grant, Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities (BRIC), is to support states, local communities, tribes, and territories as they undertake hazard mitigation projects, reducing the risks they face from natural hazards. BRIC is a FEMA pre-disaster hazard mitigation program that has replaced the previously-existing Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM) program. 

For more information on the BRIC program, please visit:


Application Period

FEMA Application Period: FY 2021 cycle closed.

FY 2022 Application Deadline to VDEM:  November 10, 2022 5:00 PM Eastern Time.  This will give VDEM time to review all applications, request additional information, and submit all project sub-applications through the FEMA GO system by FEMA’s application deadline of January 2023.


Eligible Project Types

    • Capability- and Capacity-Building Activities: Enhance the knowledge, skills and expertise of the current workforce to expand or improve the administration of mitigation assistance. Subcategories of projects include project scoping, building code, partnership, and hazard mitigation planning activities.
  • Mitigation Projects: Cost-effective projects designed to increase resilience and public safety; reduce injuries and loss of life; and reduce damage and destruction to property, critical services, facilities, and infrastructure.
  • Wildfire and Wind Retrofit Projects
  • Nature-Based Infrastructure Projects
  • Nature-Based Flood Protection Projects
  • Technical Assistance Projects
  • Earthquake Early Warning System Projects 


Considering Community Lifelines: Lifelines are vital services communities’ depend on that include: Safety and Security; Health and Medical; Communications; Hazardous Materials; Food, Water, Shelter; Energy (Power & Fuel); and Transportation. The goals and objectives of FEMA’s Strategic Plan promote the use of mitigation to reduce risk to lifelines before a disaster, and to quickly stabilize a community after disaster by preventing cascading impacts. BRIC mitigation grants can assist in funding projects which help improve these systems. 


Who can apply?

  • State or territory: Must have received a major disaster declaration under the Stafford Act in the seven years prior to the annual grant application period start date.
  • Federally recognized tribe: Is eligible to apply either as an applicant or subapplicant and must have received a major disaster declaration under the Stafford Act in the seven years prior to the annual grant application period start date or be entirely or partially located in a state that received a major disaster declaration in the same period. 


Additional Eligibility Criteria

  • FEMA must apply this seven-year requirement for each BRIC grant cycle. As of January 1, 2020, all states, the District of Columbia, U.S. territories, and Federally-recognized tribes satisfy this criteria.


How To Apply?

All project pre-applications, applications, and supporting documentation must be submitted through VDEM’s grants management portal located at If you do not currently have an active account, you can register for a new account through this portal as well.



Eligible applicants must submit a pre-application through for consideration.  



After a pre-application is reviewed for eligibility and processed by VDEM, you will be prompted to complete a project application which will require detailed scope of work, project cost, and other pertinent information necessary to qualify for consideration by FEMA following submittal.


Grant Resources

Contact Us




Events and Webinars