An Agency of the Commonwealth of Virginia

Emergency Support Team (VEST) Status: Orange, Partial Support

VEOC Activation Status: Orange

Nuclear Safety

Nuclear Safety Planning

The Commonwealth of Virginia is home to two nuclear power stations, North Anna (Louisa County) and Surry (Surry County). Both power stations are operated by Dominion Energy.

For more information about Nuclear Power Generation and preparedness resources, visit



Publications and Social Media Library

VDEM maintains a library of over 250 design elements, social media graphics, and print publications featuring disaster preparedness and recovery information.