Virginia graduates second Advanced Emergency Management Academy

August 20, 2018  //  
RICHMOND — Virginia Department of Emergency Management (VDEM) officials conducted the second graduation ceremony of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Emergency Management Institute’s (EMI) Emergency Management Advanced Academy today. The Advanced Academy has historically been taught at the EMI campus in Maryland but Virginia was selected to be the first state to provide off-campus offerings.

“Virginia faces a wide range of emergency management challenges—hurricanes, tornadoes, earthquakes, floods, civil unrest, mudslides and terrorist threats,” said VDEM State Coordinator Jeff Stern. “Academy students learn skills critical to performing leadership responsibilities, including program management and oversight, effective communication at all levels, integrated collaboration and strategic thinking to prepare for and to respond to all hazards.”

The Advanced Academy is designed for emerging leaders from government, non-profit voluntary organizations and private sector managers responsible for emergency management.  All of the graduating students are from Virginia; members of the 2018 graduating class:

David R. Amorosi, United States Navy, Wallops Island; Aaron M. Boerger,Pentagon Force Protection Agency, Arlington; Lori A. Dachille, Virginia Department of Emergency Management, Richmond; Michael J. Fazio, U.S. Army Headquarters G-3/5/7, Stafford; Robert H. Foresman, Henrico County Division of Fire, Henrico; Sara E. Harrington, Virginia Department of Emergency Management, Richmond; Alexa J. Hussar, Virginia Department of Emergency Management, Richmond; Sherri A. Laffoon, Chesterfield Fire and EMS, Chesterfield; William W. Lawson, Richmond Office of Emergency Management, Richmond; Jennifer E. Maul, Lynchburg Department of Emergency Services, Lynchburg; Renee V. McKinnon, U.S. Coast Guard Sector Hampton Roads, Portsmouth; Barbara E. Moore-Scruggs, Virginia Department of Emergency Management, Richmond; Craig C. Moore, Lancaster County-Emergency Service, Lancaster; Stacie C. Neal, Public Safety and Homeland Security, Richmond; Michelle T. Oblinsky, Virginia Department of Emergency Management, Richmond; Jess R. Powers, Russell County Emergency Management, Lebanon; Michael A. Pruitt, Virginia Department of Emergency Management, Richmond; Stephanie M. Schemenauer, U.S. Navy Reserves, Norfolk; Harold D. Smith, York County Fire and Life Safety, Yorktown; Lucy-Carter F. Smith, Virginia Department of Emergency Management, Richmond; Betsy E. Summerfield, Russell County Disaster Recovery Task Force, Lebanon; and Christopher D. Warriner, Virginia State Police, Hanover.

The graduation was held at John Tyler Community College, Midlothian Campus, at 11:30 a.m.


Be ready. Be willing to help.

Virginia Disaster Relief Fund